Compassionate Conservatives?


Yesterday, over at the VSJ, my friend ekg stated:

They really will stop at nothing…

She’s right. This, my friends, is the Republican Party/Tea Baggers response to Americans in need:

Meanwhile, the right wing front group for the health insurers, Americans for Prosperity, has this commercial running in the district of Rep. Kathy Dahlkemper, (D) PA:

Obviously it’s false and indicative of the mass of lies we’ll be seeing in the next few days.

The truth? From PolitiFact:

A new TV ad from Americans for Prosperity, a group opposing the health reform bill, suggests that screening mammograms for women under 50 would be in jeopardy if the health reform bill passes…There’s an awful lot of misinformation and distortion packed into to these few sentences, and we’ll have to take them one at a time.

More from PolitiFact…

From Rep. Dahlkemper:

These attacks from a Washington-based front group are false, tasteless, and shameful,… “In the past month, I’ve lost both my parents to cancer. It’s truly disgraceful for outside groups to then attack me for not being tough enough on cancer.

Like millions of Americans, my family and I have lost loved ones to this horrible disease. This is personal for me; I’ve been a strong proponent of the Kanzius Cancer Research Foundation and the work they are doing to find a cure, and I’ve encouraged more cancer screenings, particularly for women. My record and dedication are clear.

Leave a Reply

