That Nasty, Nasty, Spill. It’s Becoming a Mess…


…and the nation’s greatest disaster to have befallen…

The Republican Party. (Update below)

What are we (normal) people supposed to think when we hear words like this come from our fine Republican members of Congress and Gulf States regarding the President’s agreement with BP to set up a 20 million dollar fund to assist those affected by the man-made disaster in the Gulf?

 “The president just called for creating a fund that would be administered by outsiders, which would be more of a redistribution-of-wealth fund,..And now it appears like we’ll be looking at one more gateway for more government control, more money to government.”

Michele Bachman, (R), Mn

…the Obama Administration is hard at work exerting its brand of Chicago-style shakedown politics…

Tom Price, (R), Ga

What I don’t like from the president’s administration is this sort of, you know, “I’ll put my boot heel on the throat of BP.” I think that sounds really un-American in his criticism of business.

Dr. Rand Paul, (R) Kentucky Senatorial Candidate

Then there’s House Rep. Joe Barton of Texas, darling of the oil interests who today said this:

“I apologize. I do not want to live in a country where any time a citizen or a corporation does something that is legitimately wrong, is subject to some sort of political pressure that is, again, in my words, amounts to a shakedown. So I apologize.”

Really? Before you think this is just a crazed minority of a few nutjobs, remember this…if the Republicans happen to succeed in winning a majority in the House in the upcoming elections…Mr. Barton will become the head of the House Energy Committee.

And his words have been echoed by the members of the House Republican Study Committee and it’s 112 members, which is nearly two-thirds of the Republican Caucus in the House:

“BP’s reported willingness to go along with the White House’s new fund suggests that the Obama Administration is hard at work exerting its brand of Chicago-style shakedown politics.  These actions are emblematic of a politicization of our economy that has been borne out of this Administration’s drive for greater power and control”

 

Finally…I thought I’d throw in this quote I found from uber-Right-Wing Wild and Crazy Guy lilMike, from over four years ago…

I’m trying to figure out this whole offshore drilling phobia the state has. If offshore oilrigs were the eco hazard that you imply, why didn’t they start gooshing out the black stuff during Katrina?

 UPDATE

A day later and the right wing media, particularly Fox News, rush to Barton’s defense:

5 responses »

  1. Wow, congrats on digging up that quote from me. You probably had to actually do a little research on the board.

    And guess what, I still stand by it. Very little leakage from the gulf platforms duing that storm. That’s right, I still say, “drill baby drill!”

    Why? Because I’m not a hypocrite. I use petroleum products.

    • “You probably had to actually do a little research on the board.”

      Nahhh…It was sent to me. I haven’t had access to the (Politika) section of the board for months.

      “Because I’m not a hypocrite. I use petroleum products.”

      I love that comment! You’re a hypocrite in every facet of your life but refuse to cross the line on saving energy and the environment so you can fill up your Dodge Ram! I’ll bet you get off on coming over here and drive on our oil-soaked beaches!

      Start weaning yourself off the petrol products, Mikie. Thanks to hypocrites like you and BP, their use will decrease year to year from now on.

      Here’s some suggestions on how to start:

      http://www.stonyrunfriends.org/Committees/UnityNature/Petroleum.html

      • Heh, how many months has that been since you’ve had access to Politika?

        So how am I a hypocrite in every facet of my life? That’s rather broad, except for the single exception of using petroleum products huh? At least I’m not a hypocrite with that.

        I don’t have any knowledge of your life, but I know your a hypocrite about petroleum. No, I don’t mean just energy in it’s various forms, the roads you drive on and every product you use that has plastic; all petroleum based. If you were really not using petroleum products you would disappear from the internet – I’m betting there is plastic in your computer.

        So if you ever cease your hypocritical ways, I’ll never know it because you will vanish from the internet.

Leave a Reply

